Club Race Series

Experience the fun and excitement of racing in our club-confined 5-race series

Our race series is designed to introduce members to cycle sport and develop racing skills. It is made up of road, grass track, mountain bike, time trial and cyclo-cross races, each held in traffic free locations.

Riders win points depending on where they finish in each race. The points are accumulated in a season long league table with trophies awarded at the end of the year.

The coaching sessions leading up to a each race will concentrate on the skills required for each discipline.

Race rules

1. Open to first claim youth members of West Lothian Clarion only.

2. Riders must ride in their correct youth age category (see below).

3. Riders must not use a gear that exceeds the maximum gear for their age category. See gear restrictions for details.

4. A rider’s best 4 results will be used to calculate their final league position

5. If there is a tie at the end of the series the fifth race will be used to determine the result.

6. Riders must be safe, dangerous riding may lead to disqualification.

7. The series is an individual event. Riders must not ‘support’ other riders, (eg slowing the tempo, pacing, warning of attacks or other ‘team’ behaviour). But working together as individuals in a break is encouraged.

8.The races are held under British Cycling rules.

9. 20 points are awarded for first place down to 1 for 20th and all placings to last place.

10.The organiser’s decision is final



Saturday 24th June 6.30

Beecraigs Country Park


Wednesday 27st May, 6.30pm

Beecraigs Country Park

Race 3: Crit Race

Wednesday 23rd August, 1pm

Oracle (Ingliston Showground)

Mass start road race over a series of laps using a short tarmac circuit

Disc brakes cannot be used

Race 4: Hill Climb TT

Wednesday 2rd September, 6.30pm

Kinneil (Boness)

Race 5: CX

Saturday 31st October 9.00am

Linlithgow Leisure Centre


Santa Cross

Saturday 12th December, 10.00am

Linlitgow Lesiure Centre

End-of-year cyclo Cross race followed by awards giving after party

Kingscavil Hill Climb

Saturday 3rd October

Kingscavil Hill


Youth E Under 8 born in 2007 or later

Until 31 December of year in which 8th birthday falls

Youth D Under 10 born in 2005 or 2006

From 1 January of year in which 9th birthday falls to 31 December of year in which 10th birthday falls

Youth C Under 12 born in 2003 or 2004

From 1 January of year in which 11th birthday falls to 31 December of year in which 12th birthday falls

Youth B Under 14 born in 2001 or 2002

From 1 January of year in which 13th birthday falls to 31 December of year in which 14th birthday falls (or upgraded from Youth C).

Youth A Under 16 born in 1999 or 2000

From 1 January of year in which 15th birthday falls to 31 December of year in which 16th birthday falls (or upgraded from Youth B).

Recent Facebook Posts

No recent Facebook posts to show